MaxGUI - Managing lots of windows

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/MaxGUI - Managing lots of windows

siread(Posted 2006) [#1]
I've started writing New Star Soccer 4 using BlitzMax and MaxGUI. There will be quite a few windows to manage, maybe 20+ each with their own images and gadgets, many of which will display different data (teams, players etc) each time they are displayed.

I'm wondering whether I should simply create all the windows and gadgets globally when the program starts and update the data on them when they are displayed.

Or would it be more efficient to make each window it's own type that can be created on the fly, then destroyed when it's closed. Each window type would have it's own methods for populating the lists, labels and so on.

Maybe there's a better solution than either of these? I'm new to Max, so any help would be appreciated. Thanks. :)

Dreamora(Posted 2006) [#2]
I would use a Tabber and Panels to achieve such a behavior.

Multi-super-window chaos normally isn't that "intuitive" and casual players will most likely drop your app straight away.

But another question: Is it more a statistic type of game or more "game". For the later I wouldn't use MaxGUI but HighGUI for example which does GUI in the graphics window.

Each window type would have it's own methods for populating the lists, labels and so on.

If you have many lists, don't destroy the window but disable and hide them, because populating lists is still slow *at least I think so*

Gabriel(Posted 2006) [#3]