Change the Group of a MaxGUI Gadget?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Change the Group of a MaxGUI Gadget?

Gabriel(Posted 2006) [#1]
I can set the group when I create it. I can retrieve the group by using GadgetGroup, but there does not appear to be a SetGadgetGroup command. Is there a way to do it, or not?

WendellM(Posted 2006) [#2]
Not that I know of (though I'm no expert). Perhaps you could work around that by deleting/recreating gadgets to reassign groups (you've probably already considered that <g>)?

Gabriel(Posted 2006) [#3]
Yeah, unfortunately the only reason I want to change the group is to work around my program crashing when I delete the gadget. I figured if I could remove it from it's parent gadget, I can delete all other gadgets apart from this one until there's a bugfix for canvases being freed.

Ah well, no matter. I guess I can just not free anything for now.

Jake L.(Posted 2006) [#4]
Wasn't there a workaround to first call SetGraphics (CanvasGraphics()) before freeing it?

Gabriel(Posted 2006) [#5]
Yes, but that clashes with the other renderer. Dunno why. It shouldn't really.

tonyg(Posted 2006) [#6]
Does this do it?
SuperStrict

Local MyWindow:TGadget = CreateWindow("Canvas Example" , 200 , 200 , 320 , 240)
Local mywindow2:TGadget = CreateWindow("Dummy window" , 400,400,200,200)
Local MyCanvas:TGadget=CreateCanvas(10,10,290,140,MyWindow)

Repeat
  WaitEvent()
  Select EventID()
  Case EVENT_WINDOWCLOSE
     End
  Case EVENT_GADGETPAINT
    SetGraphics CanvasGraphics (MyCanvas)
    DrawRect  20,20,50,80
	 Flip
 Case EVENT_MOUSEDOWN
			Print "fIRED"
	 		mycanvas._setparent(mywindow2)
 End Select
 Local current_group:TGadget = GadgetGroup(mycanvas)
 DebugLog gadgettext(current_group)
Forever

There is also a driver.setgroup method but it's commented out.
<edit> To use gadgettext.

Gabriel(Posted 2006) [#7]
That works for me. Thanks Tony!

Mark Tiffany(Posted 2006) [#8]
mycanvas._setparent(mywindow2)