Tile Engine Considerations

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Tile Engine Considerations

SculptureOfSoul(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hello everyone. First post here, as I just purchased BlitzMax today, 15 days into my demo trial! :)

Anyways, I'm fairly new to real programming (used to use Clickteams Click & Create and Multimedia Fusion a few years back) and I'm not really sure if the approach I'm taking with my tile engine is particularly well crafted or efficient. Any suggestions or alterations that could help maximize the efficiency of design would be greatly appreciated!

I apologize in advance for the length of this - I figure it's just easier to explain the whole approach and how it's integrated than it is to take out bits and pieces that might not make much sense outside of the framework.

My tile engine design as of now...

A tile engine that:

Can theoretically have an unlimited number of layers (right now it's limited to 255 since I'm using a byte to represent it's layer number), and each tile can utilize from 1 to the max number of layers. (i.e. a spot on the map that only features empty grass might only need one layer, while the tile next to it might feature 4 layers...the grass, some rocks, a barrel, and a roof overhang)

Dynamically loads and unloads map regions and tilesets. If desired, I'd like it so that you never need to exit one map and load another.

Basically at all times I've got 9 regions (a 3x3 array) of the world map loaded. So for instance, if you move far enough left, it loads the new data into the rightmost column of regions and then treats the leftmost region as the center region, the center region as the right region, and the right region as the left region. (Sorry if this doesn't make a lot of sense, it's hard to explain concisely).