Want to hire a BMax programmer

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Want to hire a BMax programmer

Why0Why(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hi, All. I am not sure where to put this, I thought this would be the best area.

I have a program written in VB.net that is functional, but one of the main portions uses the GDI and it is SLLLOOOOWWWW. I am an intermediate Max programmer and can handle most of the program, but I need someone to write a portion for me.

In a nutshell, here is what I need:

The user scans a bed of images from a scanner to a window. They can then crop and the image can be rotated and gamma corrected. Then the image is saved as an 800x600 jpg. They can scan up to 50 images and these are displayed as thumbnails on the same screen. The order of these thumbnails can be changed by dragging and dropping. There is a free TWAIN dll that should be very easy to wrap for what we need. The software is run on a dedicated computer, so no oddball hardware configs.

I can show interested parties the existing software. We can then move onto price from there.

Thanks,

Why0Why

Brendane(Posted 2006) [#2]
Have you tried using GDI+ ?

neilo(Posted 2006) [#3]
I (sorta kinda) agree with Brendane.

You could write the whole thing in VB.net or C# inside a few hours if that's all you want to do. GDI+ is pretty impressive, performance wise (but the memory manager is a real pain with respect to games).

There's always VB Express or C# Express if you don't want to spend money.

Why0Why(Posted 2006) [#4]
I have vb.net and VS 2005 Pro. I am using GDI+. The problem is the only nice way to do thumbnails (that look good) is to use pictureboxes. Windows is rendering 50 pictureboxes, when the form first appears, you can see it rendering the pictureboxes, even on high end hardware.

Dreamora(Posted 2006) [#5]
Problem is I'm not sure it it would be so much better in 3D because if their scaned images are all 800x600 this would mean 4MB VRAM per image (as it would be 1024x1024)