Irrlicht Mod for Mac

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Irrlicht Mod for Mac

Will(Posted 2006) [#1]
Now that the Irrlicht engine (irrlicht.sourceforge.net) is available for mac, will the Irrlicht Bmax Mod be updated to support mac?

gman(Posted 2006) [#2]
@Will - been trying since it came out. had several issues getting an old Mac up and running on an OSX that could run BMAX. the mods have been recompiled successfully on Mac. unfortunately, a graciously donated libIrrlicht.a file does not seem to agree very well with BMAX when linking. where im currently at, is i would like to rebuild the MacIrrlicht Xcode project (i have v1.5) and build my own libIrrlicht.a file to try to make it more compatible (plus i need this anyway to support the mods). problem is im a total Mac newb and am having difficulties doing this.

if anyone out there is a Mac dev and feels like they could rebuild the MacIrrlicht Xcode project (and has v1.5) then your time would be much appreciated :)

Jay Kyburz(Posted 2006) [#3]
Im a mac n00b to but could give this a go i guess.

I'm thinking of diving into Irrlicht rather than waiting for BRL's 3d module. (I'm not sure I'm even going to want to use it without a few point releases :)

Is anybody making cool looking apps with Irrlicht yet? Good to work with?

Rambus(Posted 2006) [#4]
I have been using irrlicht for about 8 mounths now, its a very easy API to work with but you have to take into account writting in C++ though more flexible and powerfull can be more time consuming and frustrating.

One thing to consider is that irrlicht is a rendering engine with a gui and some crudy collision detection not a games development suit. If you want to move to irrlicht your going to have to learn other API's (Phsysics, networking, sound .... ) as well. But dont let that put you off, its a wounderfull system.

gman(Posted 2006) [#5]