Sound + channel management

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Sound + channel management

Cocopino(Posted 2017) [#1]
Hi,

I'd like to have several dozens up to maybe a few hundred of enemies on screen at any given time. What would be the standard/best way to manage their sounds (attacking, getting hit, dying etc)?

Would you give each enemy its own channel, or even make one enemy able to make more than 1 sound simultaneously, or have a channel per each enemy type, or per each type of sound... I have no experience with this.
What would be common to do here so there's a balance between the "illusion of many enemies" and "just a lot of noise"?

Thanks!

Derron(Posted 2017) [#2]
Maybe have a look at this thread.

On a request posted some time before that thread I created this:
https://github.com/GWRon/Dig/blob/master/base.sfx.channelpool.bmx
sample:
https://github.com/GWRon/Dig/blob/master/samples/channelpool/channelpool.bmx

The idea is to have a pool of channel objects which you can fetch by "keys".
For things like "music" or "speech over"-effects you use "protected channels". All other channels could get reused if a limit is reached.

So you could use these protected channels for all the important stuff:
- background music
- alert sounds ("you are under attack")
- voices of a selected unit on getting a new command ("on your command, sir!", "as you wish")
- gui clicks

and use x-y channels for all the fight-noises (swords crashing, trees falling after lumber jack did the last hit).

The approach to have 1 channel per enemy wont work if it can get attacked, play attack sounds - and then they have to play a voice when getting user-selected.

But maybe use a mix of it - special channels for "active unit reaction sounds" + an unit-individual channel for effects (attack sounds, die sound ...).