Hi, I'm new to BlitzMax

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/Hi, I'm new to BlitzMax

Yue(Posted 2015) [#1]
I am a user of Blitz3D and want to know who has better BlitzMax for 3D development.

It's easy, complicated?

Regards

xlsior(Posted 2015) [#2]
There is no 'official 3D engine for Blitzmax -- there's a few 3rd party ones out there, but not all of them are actively supported by their makers anymore.

Since you're used to B3D, the closest thing is probaby the MiniB3D module for blitzmax... It has the vast majority of the B3D commands, although not all of them.

feeble1(Posted 2015) [#3]
Hey Yue, Blitz3D is simpler than BlitzMax for 3D development, but you have much more flexibility with BlitzMax.

Check out the OpenB3D wrapper. Here is the forum post http://www.blitzbasic.com/Community/posts.php?topic=105082 and here is the wrapper download https://github.com/markcwm/openb3d.mod/archive/master.zip

It is in active development by people smarter than myself and it is also in a useable state. Most of the Blitz3D functions are present in OpenB3D and even a few extra goodies.

RustyKristi(Posted 2015) [#4]
Hey feeble

In regard to flexibility, I see there some early experiments and projects with BlitzMax and Android done by quite a few, so any demos or tests already done for OpenB3D wrapper + BMX + Android?

thanks

feeble1(Posted 2015) [#5]
I have not tested out OpenB3D on android and I should probably not attempt to speak for Brucey.

But, he has a version of the OpenB3D wrapper on his github repository and he appears to be feverishly working towards making all of his goodies compatible with BlitzMaxNg.

So, if it does not currently work, I think it is likely that he will sort it out at some point.

markcw(Posted 2015) [#6]