BlitzMax Licensing

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/BlitzMax Licensing

time-killer-games(Posted 2014) [#1]
I've been convinced by other users that even though BlitzPlus and Blitz3D have gone open source, that BlitzMax will remain closed-source.

But if Blitz Research does decide making it open source down the road I have a small suggestion involving that.

If it were to go open source, I'm no lawyer but I'm a part of another communtiy for an open source game engine and they seem to really know what they're talking about.

So if BlitzMax were to go open source I would strongly recomend making it GPL licensed with a linking exception for the games in produces. That way the base IDE, compiler, and engine could not only be open source but can still be sold for the benefit of continuing to support Blitz Research to a degree, which I find to be much better than making no money from it at all. Blitz Research should still be making some form of income from BlitzMax closed source or not.

The linking exception is a real can of worms for someone like me who knows nothing about this kind of stuff, but from what I've heard this can let the software stay open source while still allowing users to compile games that are commercial and closed source without needing to provide their games source nor be required to credit Blitz Research for the production of their app or game if they so desire.

This is all high pathetical, but it's still worth proposing because we don't know what Mark is planning as he already released the source of two of his products without telling anyone he was planning to do that beforehand.

What do you think? Does this sound like a good idea or a bad one? Why or why not? Do you have any suggestions you'd like to share on the future licensing of BlitzMax?

Cheers.

Derron(Posted 2014) [#2]
Why should you use a licence others wrote?

You could even do a

MY LICENCE

I the author allow everyone to use my software X to generate products of your choice.