is it possible to use Awesomium inside Bmax?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Programming/is it possible to use Awesomium inside Bmax?

Riva(Posted 2013) [#1]
Hi,

First. sorry about my english.

is there anybody how has try to use Awesomium (http://awesomium.com/)
to use as GUI for Fullscreen Games?

I think that one of the biggest Problem in making Fullscreen Games is that there is no right gui.
If you have Access to a Fullscreen Html Renderer a lot of Problems a gone. You than can use html, css, php, mysql, jave, jquery, and and and.. to make a very good gui.

i have spend now 5 days to figure out how to use the awesomium.dll or sourcefiles (.h). But nothing wors for me, because iam a total newbie in using dll files or c# c++.

Is it possible to write a wrapper for this great awesomium?

Yasha(Posted 2013) [#2]
Looks like a very nice project.

Unfortunately the Windows version seems to be designed with Visual Studio development in mind. Historically importing VC++ stuff into BlitzMax is a real pain, because BlitzMax is designed to work with MinGW instead (MinGW is a mostly-superior way to use C++ on Windows, but the two are not really compatible: they emit different code and BlitzMax is only designed to link to the kind emitted by MinGW). The .NET version might provide a way around this (?).

Also it has one of those odd semi-commercial licences, which is a minor turnoff.

Altogether though it seems like overkill if you just want to use it for a GUI. Game GUIs rarely need to be very powerful or complicated and you can bake most of their functionality directly into your program easily enough. A simple UI also doesn't need full HTML+CSS, when you could just have a built-in style that suits your game and use a plain XML file to define the layout.

Brucey(Posted 2013) [#3]
Historically importing VC++ stuff into BlitzMax is a real pain

Of which the easiest way is to create a C wrapper dll that your BlitzMax app can use.

Riva(Posted 2013) [#4]
@ Yasha