VRAM size?

BlitzMax Forums/OpenGL Module/VRAM size?

ima747(Posted 2009) [#1]
First off, I'm very very new to the guts of opengl, so apologies if this is crazy easy or stupid.

I know there's a million reasons why you can't get an exact number on available vram, and you shouldn't really need to know, etc.

but according to http://lists.apple.com/archives/mac-opengl/2001/May/msg00022.html atleast on mac it looks like you can find out the max vram of the graphics card, or the max memory opengl is allowed to use.

I don't need byte perfect numbers for vram, I just need to know roughly what the maximum is. In the app I'm working on all the textures are user provided so they can vary wildly (there are some scaling limits I do on them before I make the textures) and there can be HUGE numbers of them provided. So without any way of knowing what the limit of the vram is the user can provide tons of huge images and the system nearly locks up trying to swap them to the graphics card every render. but I don't want to limit it to some arbitrary low number of textures because if they're providing small textures then they can easily handle many many more before the performance chokes. Additionally if they have a 64mb card vs a 1gb card there's a wide range of size/quantity that their system could handle.

So long and short, is there any way (preferably OS/graphics card manufacturer independent) to get a rough idea of how much vram a system has. Closest I've come is there's a registry query you can do for windows and ATI cards and possibly an nvidia driver function for windows that will look up the reported vram. and I found http://lists.apple.com/archives/mac-opengl/2001/May/msg00022.html this thread that looked promising, but I don't know how to/if it's possible to shoe horn that into blitzmax...

It's just a number on the hardware, I find it hard to believe you can't just ask for it... I know why you shouldn't it most cases but it should still exist somewhere...