Rotation and scaling problem

BlitzMax Forums/OpenGL Module/Rotation and scaling problem

jkrankie(Posted 2009) [#1]
Hi all,

I've been using OpenGL to write something simple that i can plug into my existing project to speed up drawing particles - i'm using minib3d's sprite stuff at the minute. Anyway, i've got a bit stuck with rotating and scaling things, rather than spinning and growing around the center of the image, its scaling and rotating from 0,0,0.

I expect that this is probably something that isn't too difficult to get working right, but i'm a bit new at OpenGL. Hopefully one of you clever types will be able to point me in the right direction with this...

further more, if i'm missing a trick here, and it's slower than it could be, could you let me know what i can do to make it faster.

here is the code:
Import sidesign.minib3d

graphics3d 640,480,32,7,60

cam=createcamera()
positionentity cam,0,0,-30

light=createlight()
positionentity light,0,0,-15

'load textures
pix=LoadPixmap("data/BCship.png")
tex=GLTexFromPixmap(pix)

list:TList=New TList
For Local i:Int=0 To 1000
	list.addlast New glsprite.Create(Rnd(-15,15),Rnd(-15,15))
Next

Local old_ms=MilliSecs()
Local renders
Local fps

While Not KeyHit(key_escape)

renderworld
	renders:+1
	If MilliSecs()-old_ms>=1000
		old_ms=MilliSecs()
		fps=renders
		renders=0
	EndIf

'addmore stuff to the list
	For Local n:Int=0 To 14
	list.addlast New glSprite.Create(Rnd(-15,15),Rnd(-15,15))
	Next

'enable/disable stuff
	glenable(GL_COLOR_MATERIAL)
	glShadeModel(GL_SMOOTH);							
	glClearColor(0.0,0.0,0.0,0.0);					
	glClearDepth(1.0);								
	glDisable(GL_DEPTH_TEST);							
	glEnable(GL_BLEND);								
	glBlendFunc(GL_SRC_ALPHA,GL_ONE);					
	glHint(GL_PERSPECTIVE_CORRECTION_HINT,GL_NICEST);	
	glHint(GL_POINT_SMOOTH_HINT,GL_NICEST);								
	glEnable(GL_TEXTURE_2D);						
	glbindtexture(GL_TEXTURE_2D,tex)

'update sprites
	For Local g:glsprite=EachIn list
		glpushmatrix()
		If g.update()=True Then list.remove g