Shaders Example

BlitzMax Forums/OpenGL Module/Shaders Example

Jay Kyburz(Posted 2006) [#1]
Hey All,

I see a few of you are using GL shaders in your engines. I was wondering if any of you have any super simple examples of setting up a shader on an object and rendering it? A little test app or something you might have lying around?

I'm not looking for anything to fancy in my game, just want a diffuse, normal, spec and mask, and possibly emissive in some situations.

I'm a game artist at work and familiar with using shaders. just know nothing about setting them up.

Jay

Chris C(Posted 2006) [#2]
you could do no worse than play with the Ogre SDK, you can edit the material scripts and frag and vert shader code, and then re-run one of the example exe's

Theres a simple example (test) of using a shader with BlitzMax on my site

Drey(Posted 2006) [#3]
Check out RenderMonkey by ATI and Shader Designer too.

Grover(Posted 2006) [#4]
Heres an example I knocked up.
Note that it is ARB, and no Cg, or GLSlang etc. This should work on pretty much any card with basic vertex shaders (V1.0).

Its very rudimentary - you should be able to easily change the vertex shader loading into file based rather than string based - has been a while since I used blitz, so didnt bother looking how to do it ;)

For fragment shaders you can use almost the same setup as the vertex shaders, and using params etc is fairly simple. I'll update the example to be more complete when I have some time.

www.gagagames.com/Files/glcube_shader.bmx

Dreamora(Posted 2006) [#5]
should more or less work but one elemental thing is missing: Before using the first extension command, glewinit() is needed to initialize pub.glew()

Grover(Posted 2006) [#6]