How low level are Nehe tuts?

BlitzMax Forums/OpenGL Module/How low level are Nehe tuts?

DBlade(Posted 2014) [#1]
Well, I've been playing around quite a bit with the goal of learning. I typed the first few line by line to learn. And I have heavily modified the first six NeHe tutorials just to "see if I truly understood them." I added new features, changed some of the default starting parameters to make them look nicer by doing things such as changing colors, rotation speeds, etc. (These are debatable of course, since it's a matter of personal preference) :)

Anyway, I'm a beginner so I don't really know what I'm doing yet, but I've noticed that the commands in these tutorials appear to be relatively low level (in comparison to "higher level" commands, scripted actions, and logic which can be typed in just a few lines of code when using a 3D engine.)

But my question is: HOW low level are we talking here? Is it "so tedious as to be effectively impractical" to attempt a 3D game in this manner (rather than using some 3D engine)?

UPDATE AS OF FEB 3:
I've been able to compile and run almost every one of the NeHe tuts, although
past number 6 they become progressively less self-explanatory to someone who
is still new to OpenGL. Ive modified the code for the first 8 of the forty tutorials. Number 13 gives an error at compile time: "Identifier
'glFixedFontBitmaps' not found".

AdamStrange(Posted 2014) [#2]
simple answer:
one step away from the actual chip. You are about as low as you can get without using graphics card assembly language.

when you use an openGL command, you are sending a command directly to the graphics card. it stores the commands in a big list (internally) and when you end the list, it runs through them. So it is a programming language.

a 3d engine is something that spits out a predefined set of lists to the card doing things like loading models, rotating, particles, handling physics, etc.. whatever