What is a Command?

BlitzMax Forums/OpenGL Module/What is a Command?

DBlade(Posted 2014) [#1]
I hope nobody considers this a stupid question. I have just finished searching through the 20 pages of topics about OpenGL. I am not new to programming or game design (or even the BASIC Programming Language), but I am new to OpenGL.

I therefore have some questions still. First off, I have noticed many people have refered to "OpenGL Commands". What exactly does "Commands" refer to? I naturally assume (yes, I know what happens when you assume) that what they meant was Functions, am I correct? So therefore a "Command" could not logically refer to "OpenGL-specific" Constants or Variables... am I correct?

DBlade(Posted 2014) [#2]
Also, as an example for clarification, would "glClearColor(0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0)" be an example of an OpenGL "Command"? (Which is apparently a function call)

What about GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT? (Which is apparently either a constant, variable, or an object)

AdamStrange(Posted 2014) [#3]
yep
glClearColor(0.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.0)

is an OpenGL command to set the clear colour for the background - google glclearcolor for a better look

GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT

GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT and GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT aren't functions, they're constants. You use them to tell glClear() which buffers you want it to clear - the depth buffer and the "buffers currently enabled for color writing". You can also pass GL_ACCUM_BUFFER_BIT to clear the accumulation buffer and/or GL_STENCIL_BUFFER_BIT to clear the stencil buffer.

OpenGL itself is a programming language for graphics cards, there is a good set of beginner info called NeHe:
http://www.blitzbasic.com/Community/posts.php?topic=41689#468105

Once you get familiar with OpenGL you can move on to shaders which is direct programming of the graphics card.

The best advice is to start small and work in tiny steps :)

DBlade(Posted 2014) [#4]