Compiling on the Raspberry Pi (GridWars)

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax NG/Compiling on the Raspberry Pi (GridWars)

herb_fargus(Posted 2016) [#1]
I've been trying to get Gridwars working on my raspberry pi 3:

I've been using the binary posted by @brucey here: https://github.com/bmx-ng/bmx-ng/releases

and the command i've been using is

./bmk makeapp -t console -r /home/pi/Gridwars/gridwars.bmx

it starts to compile but fails with

Type TImage not found and Identifier 'plot' not found

so I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. Are there steps to compile a newer raspberry pi version of blitzmax that might work better to compile gridwars or is there something I'm missing? I apologise if this is the wrong place on the forum, I'm new to blitzmax and how it all works.

xlsior(Posted 2016) [#2]
Are you using the sdl graphics driver?

herb_fargus(Posted 2016) [#3]
I'm not sure. Perhaps not. How would I go about using that on the pi?

Brucey(Posted 2016) [#4]
I've just published a new release for the Raspberry Pi at https://github.com/bmx-ng/bmx-ng/releases
That gets it up-to-date with all the latest advances in the compiler, build process and modules.

I've been trying to get Gridwars working on my raspberry pi 3

If it's running on the desktop (eg. Linux Desktop), then it should be (fairly) trivial to get it running on the Pi.

To render graphics you'll probably want to use SDL.GL2SDLMax2D, which is OpenGL ES 2 compatible.
The SDL backend uses its own system driver, timer and events processing, which means you can't use some of BlitzMax's own default modules. In BlitzMax NG I've split up some of the BRL/Pub modules to allow for things like custom backends (like SDL) which have their own timers and events.
Generally, it's just a case of using Framework with the appropriate imports.