Shader in Fixed Function Pipeline

BlitzMax Forums/MiniB3D Module/Shader in Fixed Function Pipeline

BLaBZ(Posted 2012) [#1]
I'm relatively new to shader's and I'm just trying to get my thinking correct about this.

I have a game that I've made using miniB3D and I'd like to add some post processing effects using shaders.

I'm using a lot of miniB3D functions such as EntityTexture and EntityFX,

In order to use some shader post processing effects would I also have to re-write EntityTexture and EntityFX using shaders?

Kryzon(Posted 2012) [#2]
Yes. Not rewrite them completely, but change a lot of them, definitely. The code for RenderWorld() would need modification as well.

If you have no clue how to do this, better port your game to an engine that supports shaders from the get go - even if it's a mod of MiniBlitz3D.

BLaBZ(Posted 2012) [#3]
After a week of studying I did it, SSAO, Per Pixel Lighting and FXAA - A lot easier than porting 30,000+ lines of code

Krischan(Posted 2012) [#4]
Can you provide a demo or at least the changes to miniB3D you made for the community, please? I'm interested :-)

BLaBZ(Posted 2012) [#5]
Will do! I need to combine the necessary shaders so everything unified and enable it for fall back, my desktop has GLSL 3.3 and my laptop has GLSL 1.3, and because of this I couldn't get SSAO to work properly.

Here's how the SSAO came out -

http://rtscreator.blogspot.com/

Last edited 2012

Kryzon(Posted 2012) [#6]
Good job man! glad you found a solution.

KronosUK(Posted 2013) [#7]
Blabz. Are you still planning to release this to the community? just wondering. I am also interested in a non beta version of Minib3d that can run shaders.

Last edited 2013

Last edited 2013

Krischan(Posted 2013) [#8]
I'm still interested, too. I don't need a big or perfect demo, only the basic concept I can play with to understand.

AdamRedwoods(Posted 2013) [#9]