B3D Pipeline newbie question

BlitzMax Forums/MiniB3D Module/B3D Pipeline newbie question

Tachyon(Posted 2009) [#1]
I've been diving into miniB3D for a few months, running all sorts of demos and learning the basics of 3D.

I know this topic is covered in detail all over these forums, but I am running into issues getting animated models into B3D. It seems in part that I don't fully understand the limitations of the numerous 3D formats. When I export from Studio Max into various formats, I usually lose the animation or the texture in the process.

So, if I have a boned, biped animated model in 3D Studio Max, what is the most direct way to get this into miniB3D? I was told "B3d Pipeline" was the answer, but I have 3DS 2009 64-bit, and this B3d Pipeline plug-in doesn't work; it looks like 3DSMax 9 (from 3 years ago) was the last version supported. I've tried a few other programs mentioned in other threads, but I'm not having any success.

Any advise? Perhaps I just need some better examples to follow? On a side note, I am amazed at how convoluted the art pipeline seems to be from model creation to import into a game. Why is this process so complicated?

plash(Posted 2009) [#2]
On a side note, I am amazed at how convoluted the art pipeline seems to be from model creation to import into a game. Why is this process so complicated?
MiniB3D (and even B3D for that matter) never was great on model formats, in my opinion.
I've always used Blender and the exporter for the B3D format, but even then I never used/made animated models, and I never did much with MiniB3D.

I guess I can't really say much about anything else other than I've never used 3DSMax or such (only free modelers such as Blender, Wings3D, etc.).

_Skully(Posted 2009) [#3]
Hmmm... I used to be able to import 3DS but I believe you had to updatenormals after... don't quote me though

Beaker(Posted 2009) [#4]
You don't describe what kind of animated models you want (skinned or segmented?).