EntityOrder - Workaround for FPS Gun Meshes

BlitzMax Forums/MiniB3D Module/EntityOrder - Workaround for FPS Gun Meshes

Flemmonk(Posted 2009) [#1]
First post ever, g'day guys!

The Issue: MiniB3D can not render multiple meshes with Z-Buffering in a order specified by a custom value. Even the EntityOrder command for Blitz3D states :- "Setting an entity's order to non-0 also disables z-buffering for the entity"

The Solution: Adding a value to TMesh and TCamera which links the two together. This means that when the engine renders each camera only TMeshes with the same value as that camera are added to the rendering list and thus rendered.

If you combine this solution with the TCamera.CameraClsMode function you can easily match your gun meshes to a secondary camera, still have lighting affect your gun AND not have to use CameraRange to cut out the rest of the world.

Warning: I am not a expert in OpenGL or Programming and this fix may make things slower, or cause alot of experts to be unhappy as it might not be the correct way to do things or make them frown, so sorry and please suggest any better ways.

Down to the juicy stuff, to apply this fix you will need to modify MiniB3D and in particular these files: TEntity.Bmx and TGlobal.Bmx ( SO BACK THEM UP FIRST!!! )

We will start with TEntity.Bmx, open it up and at the beginning of your file or at the end, wherever you like we're going to add a "_scene" value.
	Field _scene:Int = 0

Next we are going to add a handy little function to set our new value with the ability to recursively set child entities with the same value. I added this at the bottom of my TEntity.Bmx (before the EndType line).
	Method SetScene(scene:Int, children = False)

Self._scene = scene

If children Then

For Local ent_c:TEntity=EachIn Self.child_list
				ent_c.SetScene(scene, True)
			Next

EndIf

EndMethod