Worrying CPU usage? What am I missing?

BlitzMax Forums/MiniB3D Module/Worrying CPU usage? What am I missing?

Yasha(Posted 2009) [#1]
Hi all. I'm very new to BlitzMax and miniB3D, and I thought I'd copy over a test program from Blitz3D. After some whittling down I ended up with this:

Framework sidesign.minib3d

Global appheight=768
Global appwidth=1024
Global appdepth=32

SC_FPS=60	'Desired framerate
rtime=Floor(1000.0/SC_FPS)
limited=True

Graphics3D appwidth,appheight,appdepth,2
'Graphics appwidth,appheight

centrecam=CreatePivot()
PositionEntity centrecam,0,15,0
camera=CreateCamera(centrecam)
PositionEntity camera,0,20,-50,1

sun=CreateLight()
PositionEntity sun,-100,400,0
PointEntity sun,centrecam

ground=CreateMesh()
'parquet=CreateSurface(ground)
'v1=AddVertex(parquet,-125,0,150);v2=AddVertex(parquet,125,0,150);v3=AddVertex(parquet,125,0,-100)
'AddTriangle(parquet,v1,v2,v3);v2=AddVertex(parquet,-125,0,-100);AddTriangle(parquet,v1,v3,v2)
'EntityColor ground,0,0,255
'block=CreateCube();ScaleMesh block,20,5,20

While Not KeyDown(KEY_ESCAPE)
'	ctime=MilliSecs()

'	MoveEntity camera,0,VKeyDown(200)-VKeyDown(208),VKeyDown(30)-VKeyDown(44)
'	TurnEntity centrecam,0,VKeyDown(203)-VKeyDown(205),0
'	MoveEntity centrecam,0,(VKeyDown(31)-VKeyDown(45))*0.2,0
'	PointEntity camera,centrecam

'	If VKeyHit(38) Then limited=Not limited					'Turn off frame limit

'	If MilliSecs()-render_time=>1000 Then fps=frames;frames=0;render_time=MilliSecs();Else frames=frames+1

'	UpdateWorld
	RenderWorld

'	Text 0,30,"FPS: "+fps

'	n=rtime-(MilliSecs()-ctime)		'Free spare CPU time
'	Delay n-(limited+1)

Flip' limited
Wend

End

As far as I'm aware it's essentially a straight copy of this Blitz3D code: