CreateCube with 6 surfaces

BlitzMax Forums/MiniB3D Module/CreateCube with 6 surfaces

Hezkore(Posted 2008) [#1]
Hey, I'm having a hard time with surfaces on a simple box. -_-
I'm still really new to 3D and creating a cube seems really messy (Looking at MiniB3D code), I need some help with my own "CreateCube" function, I want one that creates a cube but with 6 surfaces instead of just one.
Any code or just simple tips would be really great, thanks!

Warner(Posted 2008) [#2]
Do you have B3D installed ? Because in the "castle" demo, there is a function that does that. Otherwise, you might want to search for the function on this site. It is called "LoadSkyBox".

Hezkore(Posted 2008) [#3]
Yeah cheers mate, the BirdDemo had the skybox function.
Only one problem... the textures are rotate the wrong way.

Here's my code:
Function defaultTile:TMesh(Top:Int=Null,Down:Int=Null,Left:Int=Null,Right:Int=Null)

Local m:TMesh=createMesh()
	Local s:TSurface

s=CreateSurface( m )
	If Top Then
		addVertex s,+1,+1,+1,0,0;addVertex s,-1,+1,+1,1,0
		AddVertex s,-1,-1,+1,1,1;AddVertex s,+1,-1,+1,0,1
		AddTriangle s,0,1,2;AddTriangle s,0,2,3
	EndIf

s=CreateSurface( m )
	If Down Then
		addVertex s,-1,+1,+1,0,1;addVertex s,+1,+1,+1,0,0
		AddVertex s,+1,+1,-1,1,0;AddVertex s,-1,+1,-1,1,1
	EndIf

s=CreateSurface( m )
	If Left Then
		addVertex s,-1,+1,+1,0,0;addVertex s,-1,+1,-1,1,0
		AddVertex s,-1,-1,-1,1,1;AddVertex s,-1,-1,+1,0,1
	EndIf

s=CreateSurface( m )
	If Right Then
		addVertex s,+1,+1,-1,0,0;addVertex s,+1,+1,+1,1,0
		AddVertex s,+1,-1,+1,1,1;AddVertex s,+1,-1,-1,0,1
	EndIf

Return m
End Function

plash(Posted 2008) [#4]
Perhaps it has something to do with uv positions?

note: [code ][/code ] (remove spaces) for code.

Hezkore(Posted 2008) [#5]
Heh thanks...
Yeah the UVs were messed up, after randomly trying I got the textures right.

Hezkore(Posted 2008) [#6]
Uh oh... still a problem...