Where do I start ?

BlitzMax Forums/MiniB3D Module/Where do I start ?

Brucey(Posted 2007) [#1]
Okay... I have zero 3D programming experience, and want to get into this using MiniB3D (obviously!).

Can someone point me in a general direction of where I should start, please?

I'd really like to get to the point where I can code a very basic demo for my FlightDynamics module, that will let you fly a plane around a world. (I have the engine running in "theory" on a static 2D screen, with all the data on-screen, and some images showing pitch/bank etc).

I've found it easier to pick up C++ in three weeks to write the Qt GUI Module, than I have to work out what all these 3D things do... :-/

Help... *sniff*

;-)

skidracer(Posted 2007) [#2]
A good programmer would sit down and write a quick design document (yeh right).

FlightDynamics B3D Example Project

1 Create a basic scene

Add a camera, light and cube, then spin the cube in front of the camera by calling RotateEntity every frame.

Now move the cube with the arrow keys and track the cube with the camera. Use MoveEntity for forwards and back, TurnEntity to rotate. You should now hopefully be able to driver the cube round the screen and have the camera follow it.

Replace the cube with a plane model and map the pitch yaw and roll of the FlightDynamics engine to the model. You may need to call RotateEntity then TurnEntity for the other axiis if the order of rotation is different to that of minib3d.

Now lock position of the plane to the FlightDynamics engine, PositionEntity is the function for that.

ksalomao(Posted 2007) [#3]
I don't know if this will help. but take a look at this sample code and then look at the docs and the examples for more info (the blitz3d docs are very explanatory).

bradford6(Posted 2007) [#4]
2D Graphics have 2 "D"s whereas 3D Graphics have an Extra "D" thus making it 3D.
in pseudocode...(2D + Extra "D" = 3D)

seriously though.