[Brucey] reSID, SIDPLAY2 or TinySID Mod ?

BlitzMax Forums/Brucey's Modules/[Brucey] reSID, SIDPLAY2 or TinySID Mod ?

mic_pringle(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hi Brucey,

I was wondering (or hoping) if you'd ever considered releasing a mod to play the good ol' C64 SID tunes ?

I know GMan released a mod some years ago (GMan's Mod) but I can't seem to get it to compile on a Mac, and its no longer maintained with Feb 07 being the latest release.

I was going to have a crack at the TinySID library (TinySID) but the site has been down for sometime now so I no longer have access to the source.

As I have no experience with C++ I know I would fail miserably with SIDPLAY2 (SIDPLAY2, also see SIDPLAY2 Mac) so I am reaching out to you, wondering if you'd be at all prepared to give it a crack ?

This would also be an excellent companion to the great GME mod you've already done

I'll look forward to hearing from you.

-Mic

Matthew Smith(Posted 2010) [#2]
mic_pringle,

GMan's mod worked in conjuction with REDi's MaxMod module. I'm also hoping that he eventually updates MaxMod2 to play sidplay files (it's on his list of todos).

If you have a search around you should find some further info about using MaxMod and SidPlay together.

mic_pringle(Posted 2010) [#3]
Matt,

The problem I have is that I can't get it to compile successfully on a Mac, and it's no longer maintained.

Also (as I did search before posting) from what I read you only need MaxMod if you want to stream, otherwise you can use GMan's mod on its own.

Thanks

-Mic

Brucey(Posted 2010) [#4]
I have a sid playing module (for ages, as it happens)... but it's un-released.
The problem with sid players is that most of them appear to be GPL.. but I did find one that wasn't... but it's a bit quirky, and I hadn't worked out the quirks.

mic_pringle(Posted 2010) [#5]
Brucey,

Sounds interesting, any chance of a release ?

Remind me again why you don't like working with GPL'd sources :-)

Thanks

-Mic

Brucey(Posted 2010) [#6]