Possible Suggestion: libfov ...

BlitzMax Forums/Brucey's Modules/Possible Suggestion: libfov ...

mic_pringle(Posted 2009) [#1]
@Brucey

As it seems you are on a roll with all your oldskool mods (gme, libtcod etc) could I perhaps offer up another one - libfov

I would have a go at this myself but I can't seem to get it to compile properly on OS X (although I believe this to be a problem at my end rather than with the lib itself) and also the sample included relies on SDL which would require some effort to get running on a Mac as you have to play around with SDLMain etc which I have no experience of.

I'll look forward to your response with fingers crossed.

Thanks

-Mic

mic_pringle(Posted 2009) [#2]
@Brucey

And another - MicroPather

I think these would be useful because they seperate out the different parts of the TCOD lib, so you can plug and play with what you need.

Also, I have seen the posts on the libtcod forums with regards to the unstability of the 1.5 release and the fact there's no timescale for it's release and feel these two libraries would go part way to replacing a lof of the available functionality available in libtcod.

Again, I would have stab at this myself but I know very little c++ and have no idea how to derive a BlitzMax type from a c++ class.

Thanks

-Mic

Brucey(Posted 2009) [#3]
Well, the libtcod example (included with the module) is working fine - apart from some image issues related to 1.5. But otherwise, it seems to be working much as it did before (in 1.4).

GW(Posted 2009) [#4]
Micropather would a great mod, but LibTcod already has several Fov algos available.

mic_pringle(Posted 2009) [#5]
@GW

As true as that is, the API in libfov is exceptionally easy to use and understand. Also if all you need are fov and pathfinding then libtcod is a little overkill.

That's why I thought about having separate mods. That way you can just pick an choose whatever you need.

@Brucey