Learning Box2d

BlitzMax Forums/Brucey's Modules/Learning Box2d

JA2(Posted 2009) [#1]
Hi,

I'm new to programming with box2d and I was wondering if anyone would be kind enough to share some simple examples with me to help me learn?

I've looked through the examples that come with the module but it's quite a lot to take in. Something very simple would be great, maybe with some comments to tell what does what?

A big thank you in advance for any help :)

Armitage 1982(Posted 2009) [#2]
Hi JA2

First of all, read the manual that Brucey include in every modules.
That will give you a good starting point

Then don't forget you need to include something like the render.bmx in order to have a "debug" rendering and actually see something in your BlitzMax Application (box2d is only a physics library and won't render things for you).

Inside this render.bmx there is extended DebugDraw type/class automatically used by Box2d if you setup and provide correctly a b2DebugDraw object settings (see test.bmx).
The render.bmx also contain important scale values (normally xScale/yScale of 8.0).
Box2D use a system of meter/second and since you don't want that 1px = to 1 meter you better have to choose the best scale value for your world (or then the simulation will be very slow).

The test.bmx is the main core of every testbed examples available in Box2d.
Contain : The main loop, mouse manager, box2d Settings, box2d contact point manager and Box2d body destructor.

Examples are generally made of simple body setuping.

The helloworld.bmx is your best ally to fully understand the logics behind Box2d. (It's probably the simpliest example you ask for :-)

I suggest you follow the pyramid.bmx for a visual example and read the appropriate chapter from the BlitzMax Box2d Documentation.

Create a "simple example" for you to learn would probably mean rewriting what's already present in these 3 files.

Don't hesitate to go to the official box2d website : http://www.box2d.org/