Questions about bah.regex

BlitzMax Forums/Brucey's Modules/Questions about bah.regex

Otus(Posted 2008) [#1]
I read through the help and PCRE man, but didn't quite understand everything...

What does TRegEx.Find do? It returns a match object, which has SubCount matches, but what are they?

PCRE has "standard" and "alternative" matching methods, of which common.bmx seems to import the standard one... However the man says this about the standard method:
If a leaf node is reached, a matching string has been found, and at that point the algorithm stops.

So why would it ever return more than one match? Also, will the match always be the first from left, the shortest, the longest or something else?

If I need to find the longest match beginning at position 0 in the string, what should I do?

Brucey(Posted 2008) [#2]
Well, I'm no expert... but I'll see what I can do :-)

What does TRegEx.Find do?

It finds the first match in the string. On subsequent calls, it will find the next match, and so on.

...a match object, which has SubCount matches, but what are they?

A regular expression can be quite complex, finding not only the main match, but all sub-pattern matches which make up the whole. For a basic search you would not necessarily be interested in these, but for other searches you might want it to pre-split a date into its constituent parts, for example.
Here's a little example of subpatterns. The expression itself is taken from the docs :
SuperStrict

Framework BaH.Regex
Import BRL.StandardIO

Local pattern:String = "the ((red|white) (king|queen))"
Local search:String = "the red king"

Local regex:TRegEx = TRegEx.Create(pattern)

Try

Local match:TRegExMatch = regex.Find(search)

While match

For Local i:Int = 0 Until match.SubCount()
			Print i + ": " + match.SubExp(i)
		Next

match = regex.Find()
	Wend

Catch e:TRegExException

Print "Error : " + e.toString()
	End

End Try

It outputs this :
0: the red king
1: red king
2: red
3: king