NG does not play nice with function references

BlitzMax Forums/Brucey's Modules/NG does not play nice with function references

FireballStarfish(Posted 2016) [#1]
Hi!
I am new to BlitzMax-NG and, in a way, to this forum, seeing as this is my first post here.
I've used BlitzMax for years and been interested in NG for a while. Now I've finally gotten around to trying it out and found a couple bugs I'd like to report. I'm not sure if there's a list of known issues anywhere, as I haven't found one. But I see a bunch of other threads reporting NG problems in here, so I assume this is the right place.
I am using the BlitzMaxNG_win32_Unoffical_0_77 package from http://www.bmx-ng.com, with the newest bmk and brl modules from github.

I found NG seems to have quite a lot of trouble with data types representing functions.

Here's a simple example:
SuperStrict
Framework BRL.StandardIO

Local func(str:String) = Print
func "hello"
This code declares a local variable "func" of the type "(s:String)" - a function that takes one String parameter and returns nothing. Then Print gets assigned to this variable and called with a string literal. The official BlitzMax compiler considers this a valid program that prints "hello"; NG however refuses to compile it, saying "Unable to convert from Int(String) to (String)". This is a difference between vanilla BlitzMax and NG which I assume might arise from BRL.StandardIO being written non-SuperStrict? While this seems easily fixable by changing the declaration to
Local func:Int(str:String) = Print
, it can be more complicated in practice. One might, for instance, want to exchange Print with DebugLog (consider a program like the one in the next codebox below). This is trivial in vanilla, but in NG it suddenly becomes impossible, because although Print returns Int, DebugLog returns void and so you cannot declare a variable with a type that matches them both.

There are more problems:
SuperStrict
Framework BRL.StandardIO