Is playniax ignition framework a good idea?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Is playniax ignition framework a good idea?

keeplit(Posted 2013) [#1]
I'm fairly new to blitzmax, I bought it a couple of years ago but never used it much until now.

I've gone through a few tutorials and know just the basic stuff, drawing graphics to the screen, keyboard and mouse input, basic types and methods. All the usual newbie stuff. I have coded before but only a few simple utilities in Purebasic and a couple of small games in GLBasic.

Is the playniax ignition framework a good thing for me to get? From what I understand it will allow me to skip learning and coding a hell of a lot of stuff and get straight in there and make games.

Anyone here have it or an opinion on it?

All advice is welcomed, thanks!

GfK(Posted 2013) [#2]
Don't skip learning. BAD idea.

therevills(Posted 2013) [#3]
Do you want to learn coding or just create games? If its the latter, maybe use GameMaker...

I've bought Playniax, but I didn't like the work flow and you would still have to learn its API. You wont be able to skip learning ;)

keeplit(Posted 2013) [#4]
Don't get me wrong, I really enjoy coding and want to learn as much as I can but I'm pretty sure I'm being realistic in thinking that I'm no genius when it comes to this stuff.

Things that worry me are things like physics, video issues (resolutions and scaling, alt-tab and minimise games etc), AI and all the really complicated stuff. I suppose I will have to see how well I do when the time comes.

Thanks for the opinions, I think I will skip on the framework after all.

therevills(Posted 2013) [#5]
Normally when I learn a new language I recreate the classic games, such as Space Invaders, PacMan, Asteroids etc

These simple games helps you to learn the language in small bits and pieces, maybe give it a go :)

Hotshot2005(Posted 2013) [#6]
I agree with therevills and make own Framework as it will be fun learning by making own :)