Is BlitzPlus code runnable in BlitzMax?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Is BlitzPlus code runnable in BlitzMax?

Ben M(Posted 2013) [#1]
I've had BlitzPlus for years now, but would like to be able to run games on multiple platforms (Max/Linux).

How much tweaking is involved to get a BlitzPlus game running in BlitzMax? If any.

Ben M(Posted 2013) [#2]
The Orientation Guide has all this information.

I read "orientation" as "screen orientation", not as in my orientation to BlitzMax :)

I have been developing on mobile for a couple years.... can you tell?

Midimaster(Posted 2013) [#3]
there are a dozend of commands, where the syntax is different. as...
[bbcode]Text 10,10,"Hallo"

DrawText "Hallo", 10,10[/bbcode]
but you could "cast" them:
[bbcode]Function Text (X%, Y%, T$)
DrawText T$,X,Y
End Function
[/bbcode]
... or replace them.

There are some syntex differences in Types:

[bbcode]T.Enemy = New Enemy
T\X=10

T:Enemy=New Enemy
T.X=10[/bbcode]

BMax forces you to use a lot of special types,where B+ uses always INTEGER handles:

[bbcode]File%=OpenFile("....

File:TStream=Openfile("....[/bbcode]
but if you first do not set the BMax directive SUPERSTRICT, your Bmax will not be too strict to you in such things.

But the logic of the Code and of the GUI is quit the same. So I would say, that o code of 100 lines can be converted in half an hour and 2000 lines in a day.

Last edited 2013

Mahan(Posted 2013) [#4]

but if you first do not set the BMax directive SUPERSTRICT, your Bmax will not be too strict to you in such things.

I would highly recommend SuperStrict for new BlitzMax users.

The typed handles (or references) are a very valuable evolution over B+. You will get compiler error messages if you try to use the wrong type in the wrong place in your code. It will actually tell you what type it expected and what it got. This is a huge advantage over B+ imho and can potentially save lots of "hair tear" when projects get big.

DrawImage <wrong type>, x, y