New to BlitzMax, a few questions inside.

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/New to BlitzMax, a few questions inside.

ReconditePhreak(Posted 2011) [#1]
I remember playing with BlitzBasic way back in the day, and I thought I'd get back into BlitzMax for fun personal projects.

I'm an experienced developer, so the language constructs themselves don't confuse me, but I do still have some questions about specifics.

1. I've come across Blide, and I've installed the free version of it. I got the impression that Blide hasn't had a release in several years. The experience has been great so far, but is it still supported in a meaningful way? I'm considering purchasing it.

2. Is there better documentation than the default built in documentation? I've found the current documentation to be very lacking.

3. Is there an API listing I can browse? something like doxygen would create, etc. One of the things I like to do when picking something up is to get a broad idea of what's there. I may not always know how something is used, but it's better if I have an idea of what API calls exist, etc.

4. And a little more specific, how do you determine the pixel length/width of a piece of text before drawing it via DrawText? For example, if you were trying to center a piece of text, you would need the dimensions first. I'm guessing you can somehow draw it into a buffer first and get the dimensions of said buffer? I have no idea how you would go about doing it.

5. What exactly is the purpose of EVENT_WINDOWCLOSE? When creating a game loop, my first attempt was to use PollEvent and test if CurrentEvent.id = EVENT_WINDOWCLOSE, but trying to close the window was still ignored (I'm running in windowed mode for my testing). Using AppTerminate() worked, so I'm guessing there's a subtlety there I'm not aware of.

That's it for now, although I'm sure I'll have more questions as time goes on :)

Edit:

thought of a few more questions