TImage??

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/TImage??

pc_tek(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hi all...I'm new to BlitzMax, and have a rather fundemental question.

What is TImage?

I have seen it in tutorials as a keyword many times, but haven't found an explanation for it yet.

GfK(Posted 2011) [#2]
Its an Image object. LoadImage() returns a TImage object. I.e.:

Local myImage:TImage = LoadImage("myImage.png")
Print myImage.width
Print myImage.height

Last edited 2011

pc_tek(Posted 2011) [#3]
Hi G!

Yes, I understand the 'use' of TImage, but do not understand why it is used. Couldn't...

Local myImage = LoadImage("myImage.png")

...do just as well, or is there a special significance to it?

Jesse(Posted 2011) [#4]
you can look at it to the right of the Ide, in the home tab, under:
projects-> modules source->brl.mod->max2d.mod->image.bmx
it is used to load pixmaps to be converted to textures for use by the drawImage command.

okee(Posted 2011) [#5]
You need to use it in Strict mode otherwise you'll get an error
Strict advises the BlitzMax compiler to report as errors all auto defined variables.

In non strict mode it's optional

This will give an error
Strict
Graphics 800 , 600 , 1
Global pic = LoadImage("Image1.png")

While Not KeyHit(KEY_ESCAPE)
	cls
	DrawImage pic,100,100 	
flip
wend

This won't

Strict
Graphics 800 , 600 , 1
Global pic:TImage = LoadImage("Image1.png")

While Not KeyHit(KEY_ESCAPE)
	cls
	DrawImage pic,100,100 	
flip
wend

Last edited 2011

GfK(Posted 2011) [#6]
If you don't define the variable as a timage then garbage collection won't clean it up, leading to memory leaks.

at least that's how blitzmax used to be - its not something I've done in a very long time.

coffeedotbean(Posted 2011) [#7]
Also allows you to do stuff like;

Global myimage:TImage = loadimage("bla")

MyDrawImage(myimage,100,100)

Function MyDrawImage(image:TImage,x,y)
    DrawImage image,x,y
    Drawtext image.width,10,10
    Drawtext image.height,10,20
End Fucntion