Profiling a bmx program

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Profiling a bmx program

Doc Holliday(Posted 2011) [#1]
Hello,

in another post on this forum ( http://blitzbasic.com/Community/posts.php?topic=93169 ) I saw that the user col did a profiling
for the code posted there.

I am new to bmx and interested in how to do such a profiling. Is there any software out there for this task?

Thanks in advance

Doc Holiday

Last edited 2011

matibee(Posted 2011) [#2]
From my framework code:

Usage sample:

Doc Holliday(Posted 2011) [#3]
@matibee: Thank you very much - that's a great start and works fine. :-)

Anybody out there with more/other solutions? If so, I would like to hear from you ...

Doc Holliday

Czar Flavius(Posted 2011) [#4]
I just store the current MilliSecs before and the MilliSecs after the functin/code fragment, and output the difference. This gives you the time in milliseconds it took to peform. It works for quick and dirty comparisons of different ways of coding something. You may have to (perhaps redundantly) repeat the code a few hundred or thousand times, as a single go may complete in less than 1ms and make it impossible to meainingfuly compare.

GfK(Posted 2011) [#5]
I just store the current MilliSecs before and the MilliSecs after the functin/code fragment, and output the difference. This gives you the time in milliseconds it took to peform. It works for quick and dirty comparisons of different ways of coding something. You may have to (perhaps redundantly) repeat the code a few hundred or thousand times, as a single go may complete in less than 1ms and make it impossible to meainingfuly compare.
Same. My code is riddled with:
'Local S:Int = Millisecs()
blahFunction()
'DebugLog Millisecs() - S
I just take them all out at the end.

Perturbatio(Posted 2011) [#6]
I just take them all out at the end.