Game world question

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Game world question

blackwater(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hi everyone! I'm brand new to BlitzMax, I did some forum searches on this topic but I'm still confused about a few things, hopefully I can explain this correctly.

Do the screen coordinates ever change? What I mean is does the viewport always have the coordinates 0.0 to whatever the screen is set at?

I guess what I'm getting at is how would I create a map that goes beyond the viewport? If I move the player object to the left, for example, and let's say a game object was at coordinates -100,-100 how would I display that?

Or does the viewport not change at all and I'll actually have to shift the game objects so they get displayed when the player is near them?

What I'm asking is, take the game Eschalon, how does the player object navigate around the game world?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Yahfree(Posted 2010) [#2]
It's all relative. You can do whatever you want with object coordinates. The screen coordinates simply represent the pixels on the screen.

A way to achieve the effect you're looking for, is to define a game world size, say 20,000px by 20,000px, and define a location, say 10,000px by 10,000px

You would change what you render to the screen based on the location, and when you move, you would move the location coordinates, not anything else.

Sorry if that was a bit abstract, but really programming is very abstract. You could define the viewport to be -200 to 4000 if you wanted to. Everything is relative. (did I already say that? :) )

TaskMaster(Posted 2010) [#3]
Look into the SetOrigin command. It changes the location of the top left corner.

Czar Flavius(Posted 2010) [#4]
You should be wary of changing the origin - you don't want to draw the entire map and simply offset it globally.