Graphics module

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Graphics module

jankupila(Posted 2010) [#1]
I am not very advanced programmer with Blitzmax. Which graphics module you recommend for me? If I use one, is it easy to turn my codes to .exe files? Can my include my images and music to the .exe file?

Zeke(Posted 2010) [#2]
use opengl. and use 'IncBin' command.

jankupila(Posted 2010) [#3]
I thought slightly higher level module than opengl. And what I mean by that, assembly and C++ are lower level than Blitzmax.

Last edited 2010

Zeke(Posted 2010) [#4]
then you need to make own gfx module..

jankupila(Posted 2010) [#5]
Haven't somebody done it already?

Zeke(Posted 2010) [#6]
whats wrong brl modules (openGL,Directx7,DirextX9)??

jankupila(Posted 2010) [#7]
Well, maybe I have to start to learn OpenGl. Am I right, does blitzmax support OpenGl or do I have to import module for it? I am quite new with these things.

Zeke(Posted 2010) [#8]
if you speak finnish then i may help you with Email.

Czar Flavius(Posted 2010) [#9]
Don't give him confusing advice.

jankupila, BlitzMax comes with OpenGL and DirectX 2d graphics as standard. You don't need another module or to use OpenGL directly.

Here is an example

SetGraphicsDriver GLMax2DDriver()

Graphics 640, 480

SetColor 255, 0, 0
DrawRect 50, 50, 100, 100
SetColor 0, 255, 255
DrawOval 400, 100, 50, 50
SetColor 255, 255, 0
DrawText "Drawing graphics!", 300, 300
Flip
WaitKey()

When you run your program, an exe is automatically made for you in the same folder as your source code file. You can run this independantly of BlitzMax.

jankupila(Posted 2010) [#10]
I speak Finnish and I take advice more than happily.

jankupila(Posted 2010) [#11]
I would like to have a link for good OpenGL tutorial.

GaryV(Posted 2010) [#12]