load unlimited images

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/load unlimited images

ssdw(Posted 2010) [#1]
hello everyone,

I just bought blitzmax (I have little experience with it), and I have a question.

I'm working on a program where the user should be able to load unlimited images. My question is how can I do that?
I've tried a lot but could not find the answer.

Thank You a lot!

ImaginaryHuman(Posted 2010) [#2]
Load them as pixmaps using LoadPixmap.... you obviously aren't going to be able to VIEW a huge amount of images all on-screen at once, so you can simply convert them to `Images` as you need to show them. You won't be able to keep them all in video ram as Images, there just isn't enough of it (e.g. maybe only 32-64mb on many systems), so you'll have to figure out a way to spool them from pixmaps into images in a fairly smooth way - perhaps by using small `pixmap windows` from each pixmap and thus uploading only small sections of image each frame - e.g. 64x64 or 256x256, so that you are drawing `tiles` on the screen as the image scrolls or whatever. It should be fast enough to be smooth. You just wont be able to do an upload of a whole big image every frame and expect it to be smooth. By loading into pixmaps with LoadPixmap you are using main memory, so you could have a gigabyte or more available, depening on the computer. You also might consider storing the image in a compressed format in ram and only decompress as you need to view it. You could use zip or something similar. Another option is to spool images from disk as they are needed - a bit slower and more difficult to get smooth but it'd allow you to use a lot less memory.

Czar Flavius(Posted 2010) [#3]
What do you mean by unlimited images?

Zeke(Posted 2010) [#4]
What do you mean by unlimited images?

Repeat
	Local img:TImage = LoadImage("myimage.png")
Forever

heh. this was just joke but... im too thinking about unlimited images..

Czar Flavius(Posted 2010) [#5]