Unable to create temporary directory

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Unable to create temporary directory

Radical(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hello, I am just beginning my venture into the world programming. I've had this book called "Game Programming for Teens: Third Edition" for a while and figured I might as well not waste any more time and just give it a go. The book comes with a disk that contains a demo for BlitzMax(as well as a bunch of other stuff). The demo was expired the first time I attempted to use it though, which seemed odd to me. Well, I just went ahead and actually dumped some money into getting the full program to cement my commitment.

I am getting started with the book and I've hit my first snag. I took the first game demo called Kong, and transfered it from the demo program onto the full version of BlitzMax. As soon as I try to build and run it though, the output says that it was unable to create a temporary directory.

I didn't want to just run to this site and expect someone to just throw out answers so early, but I've spent hours now combing through the program tutorials, google search, etc. and have nothing. Anyone know what might be the problem? I'm feeling like a dolt at the moment. I've never done anything more advanced than basic HTML and not even past the first chapter and I've hit a road block.

DinoEntrails(Posted 2010) [#2]
Hmmmm.... I am pretty much you in a couple of months :-) I read the same book, only first edition, and since have programmed 4 games and have even learned a bit of C++. I still do not know too much about programming, but the first question that comes to mind here is whether or not you have saved the blitzmax file after transferring it from the demo program to the full.

Amon(Posted 2010) [#3]
What OS are you using?

If you are using win7 and have installed blitzmax in to "Program Files" it will more or less be this that is causing the problem.