Instant Replay (Saving large amounts of data)?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Instant Replay (Saving large amounts of data)?

Herbert Filby(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hi all. I just purchased Blitzmax and Leadwerks 2.3 to fulfill a game idea I've been hatching for about 10 years now...

I'm trying to recreate an instant replay code that I prototyped in QBasic, and it needs updating.

I am going to be storing perhaps up to 24 hours of non-continuous instant replay data, and I need to know which is going to be faster:

-SQL database
-XML file
-or if there is another option, please let me know

Also, data may be altered dynamically while the replay is happening (like if I were racing against a "ghost" version of myself in Mario Kart, but I can bump into it, rather than passing through it). So it will be simultaneously recording and playing back at the same time, for multiple objects, and updating old object replays if they are altered.

Anyone have any suggestions which route I should go? I plan on making a full 3D game, so each object needs to be "saved" and timestamped... ie. a lot of data being recorded and played back.

I'm not worried so much about how much space this takes up, but more on performance of read/write on random access data that happens every second...

Volker(Posted 2010) [#2]
If you want to use serialization (storing objects) there
are Bruceys persist mod, which stores data in XLM files
and chaos.clone mod; which is faster and stores data binary.
You should look at both and decide which is better for your purposes.
Serialization uses reflection, which is not the fastes at all.

Czar Flavius(Posted 2010) [#3]