Multiple frameworks?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Multiple frameworks?

Whitness(Posted 2010) [#1]
I'm trying to do something that probably qualifies as poor programming practice, and hopefully someone here can help me out.

I have a 2D game. A lot of the details of the game are read in from XML. I am attempting to create a tool that will make editing the xml a much easier and user friendly experience. My initial plan was to read in the xml and store it as usual, and instead of running in graphics mode have a relatively simple wxWidgets UI, because I have experience with wx in other languages.
The problem I'm finding is that wxWidgets wants you to use it as a framework. But when I do, the program can no longer find types like TImage. If I don't use it as a framework and just import the wx types I need, all of the (mostly superfluous) graphics stuff works fine, but the program can't find wx functions like ConnectAny.
I have limited experience on the ins and outs of including and importing. And I had never heard of frameworks until I started attempting to use wx.

I hope this made some amount of sense. Is there a way to use multiple frameworks, so I can keep whatever the default is? Or is there a way for me to import everything from wx without using it as a framework?

Thanks for any help or suggestions

- Whitney

GfK(Posted 2010) [#2]
Use Import:
Framework whatever.mod
Import another.mod
Import yetanother.mod
Import andanother.mod

xlsior(Posted 2010) [#3]
Also: if you are using commands from a bunch of different modules but you're not quite sure where they are coming from, then you may want to look at Framework Assistant -- it's a free download (search the forum for a link)

Framework Assistant will analyze your program, and generate the list of framework and imports necessary to make it work. Not perfect, but it can save you a lot of time trying to hunt down all the modules you actually use.

EOF(Posted 2010) [#4]