Help finding the *RIGHT* tutorials???

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Help finding the *RIGHT* tutorials???

DesTroll(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hello.

I'm completely new to programming.

I was at Barnes and Noble about a month back however and found a copy of this book and thought I'd give it a shot since I've always been curious about making my own games.

The book focuses on programming in Blitz Plus, so I tried it out until the free trial of blitz it came with expired. When it did my mother decided to suprize me and buy me a copy of blitz so I could keep playing around with it and the book.

Problem is she got me BlitzMax instead of BlitzPlus.
I've tried to tinker around with it some using code from the book but it seems there's quite a few inconsistancies between the 2 blitz languages and it constantly shot off one error message after another when I tried to run the example the book had me type up.

Later, after looking in the max library, I ran across a file that was included in the ide that supposedly will allow it to run blitzplus and blitz3d code, but I can't seem to get it working for me.

I still keep getting a bunch of errors any time I try to compile and run anything I've made.

At this point I've pretty much given up on the book since nothing in it seems to work with BM, but I still want to figure this stuff out so I'm going to shift my focus to BlitzMax instead since it was already purchased for me.

Considering that the "tutorials" that came included in blitzmax aren't exactly geared towards people new to programming, would anyone mind suggesting/pointing out a couple of the easier to understand "new people" type tutorials that are around here?
O.o??