"Black Screen" Problem with Graphics

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/"Black Screen" Problem with Graphics

GuntiNDDS(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hi,

I am new to blitzmax. Looking at the examples I am experiencing a problem when setting the display mode, that I also had with DarkBasic before.

using for example:

Graphics 1024,768,32

the screen(s) will just go black and i have no option left except hitting the reset button on my computer. No ALT+F4, No Windows Key, No Alt+Tab can bring me back.

The Resolution and Depth is Supported by my graphics card and my primary and secondary screen. even tho the secondary screen should not matter anyways.

The Graphics Card is an ATI Radeon 4800 Series (i dont have the actual model # at hand)

In DB, the resolution to the problem i believe was to switch a setting from "fullscreen" to "Full desktop" through the IDE. After that i could change the resolution in code without the bug happening.

The Operation System is Windows 7 64 Bit Pro, even to (at least in DB) the problem also occoured under Windows Vista 64 Home Premium.

It is also noteworthy that i am an avid video game player and thus run alot of directx applications that all run fine.

Any ideas ? Thanks.

ImaginaryHuman(Posted 2010) [#2]