Beginning my programming journey

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Beginning my programming journey

ScottFromCanada(Posted 2010) [#1]
Hey all.

I am just beginning my game programming journey with BlitzMax based on the recommendation from Simon of New Star Soccer fame. I know what I want my big project to be game-wise but I am quite far from that yet. So I have two questions.

1) Can you guys suggest a good, simple project for me to learn how to create a game? A simple shooter perhaps, A recreation of an existing board game, or something along those lines.

2) Is there a step-by-step guide to creating a game from concept to completion that describes not just the programming aspect but the planning, documentation etc? I am really interested in learning the progress of game creation.

Thank you.

Scott

johnnyfreak(Posted 2010) [#2]
i found this useful for me. Maybe it's right also for you.

Who was John Galt?(Posted 2010) [#3]
Hi there,

Someone else can help you with (2), but if you are a real beginner, do yourself a massive favour, and forget the whole planning and documentation aspect to begin with. The only documentation you need at this stage is a few well placed 'rem statements'.

If you haven't done so already, have a good read of the BlitzMax documentation. Find a simple demo, for example something from the code archives or something that comes with Blitz, and play about with the code. Change bit, tweak bits, and ensure that you understand what is happening and why. This is an excellent way of learning.

Don't get bogged down with things such as MaxGUI, object-oriented programming or types if they seem daunting. There's plenty of time for that later.

Dabhand(Posted 2010) [#4]

1) Can you guys suggest a good, simple project for me to learn how to create a game? A simple shooter perhaps, A recreation of an existing board game, or something along those lines.