Display issue when keeping key or mousebutton down

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Display issue when keeping key or mousebutton down

Pierrou(Posted 2009) [#1]
Hello,
I am relatively new to Blitzmax and I must say I love it. These days I am developing a program that displays text files at various sizes in a viewport on the main graphics object (it will be part of a reading game intended for speech therapists [I am a speech therapist myself). It seemed quite easy to let the text scroll inside that viewport by displaying the text a little bit higher or lower on the viewport (ex to scroll 4 pixels down I display the whole text 4 pixels higher).
It almost works, using KeyDown(KEY_DOWN) or Mousedown on a button drawn somewhere on the screen. But when the key or the mousebutton is down for too long, the text disappears instead of keeping on scrolling, and never appears again whatever I try to do. It doesn't seem to happen when keeping the key or the mouse button down more briefly.
I hope these explainations are clear enough despite my poor English and all.
Thanks in advance for your help,

TaskMaster(Posted 2009) [#2]
Without a code snippet, we can't really help you. but, you are probably just adding too many pixels too quickly and making it shoot way off the screen?!?!

Pierrou(Posted 2009) [#3]
This code adds or substracts 4 pixels to the starting point of the display
and then calls function "affiche" (which displays the text) when holding one button or the other.
All variables except sourisx and sourisy are global
If MouseDown(1)
			sourisx=MouseX()
			sourisy=MouseY()
			If sourisx>margex
				If sourisy>margeh-2*bordure And sourisy<margeh-bordure Then decal=decal+4 affiche
				If sourisy>graphicsy-3*bordure And sourisy<graphicsy-2*bordure Then decal=decal-4 affiche
			EndIf
		EndIf

And this is the main part of the affiche function that displays text :
Function affiche()