Advise for a DarkBasic Pro and Playbasic user?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Advise for a DarkBasic Pro and Playbasic user?

G-Lyst(Posted 2008) [#1]
I have been using DarkBasic Pro for about 3 years, but it didn't gave me enough command for 2D Game making process. I later switch to Playbasic, which is very powerful for 2D, but also very buggy and the community support is very slow. Now, I decided to use BlitzMax. Because I'm used to some of the syntax names in DBPro and PB, what advise would you guys for me to learn Blitz Max syntax?

big10p(Posted 2008) [#2]
Like everyone else, read the docs (such as they are), experiment with code and ask any questions you have on these forums. I'm currently in the process of learning blitzmax too.

iprice(Posted 2008) [#3]
I used to use PlayBasic too, so I know exactly where you're coming from. The support from the community isn't that bad though - they are a pretty friendly bunch on the whole, although Kevin can be very abrasive - whether by accident or design, I'm not sure. However, his knowledge of programming techniques is excellent as is his passion for PB. Since using BMax, I've not gone back to PB.

I used PB to code Sorcery, Shadow Of The Beast, B'lox! Easter Edition, scrolling deformable terrain (Lemmings stylee), torchs, RockRush, Sokoban, MapEdit and many other R&D texh/demos. I know how capable it is.

BlitzMax is different to PB, but it also shares a lot of similarites. It's also faster and offers many features that are much easier to implement than they are in PB.

Honestly, if you can get on with DB Pro and PB, you'll have few problems adapting to BlitzMax. It'll do pretty much every 2D trick that PB can with ease and then some. It is different, but the differences soon become umimportant, as the power of BlitzMax allows you to do exactly what you want with the minimum of fuss.

MGE(Posted 2008) [#4]