Private functions

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Private functions

big10p(Posted 2008) [#1]
Ok, so I'm pretty new to this whole OOP lark but as I understand it, it's not possible in blitzmax to have a function inside a type that's only callable from within the type. i.e. a private function.

Wouldn't this be good to have helper functions for methods etc.?

I'm told other OOP languages have this feature.

Feature request? :P

GfK(Posted 2008) [#2]
You sort of can.

You can use Public and Private but I *think* that makes functions/methods/whatever only accessible from the current source file, rather than a specific type.

Might be wrong.

ziggy(Posted 2008) [#3]
But it does not work if the function is inside a type. If the type is public, all its members are. If the type is private, all its members are also private.

GfK(Posted 2008) [#4]
That's why I said "sort of" ;)

I generally use an underscore prefix for stuff that I shouldn't directly mess with. Not ideal but it works.

(and yes, private methods/functions etc would be nice).

big10p(Posted 2008) [#5]
I generally use an underscore prefix for stuff that I shouldn't directly mess with. Not ideal but it works.
Yeah, that seems to be the general consensus for a 'workaround'. However, such functions will still be callable from outside the type's scope. Just seems to go against the grain of proper OOP - and good programming practice in general - IMO.

ziggy(Posted 2008) [#6]
Yes it would be really nice. As Gfk said, most Max code circulating arraound uses the underscore prefix to identify private-like methods or functions.
There's another much more secure approach if you're working with modules you're planning to distribute and support, mixing private types with public types that internally deal with the privates one. It is a fast and a bit dirty approach but it works.
Public 
Type MyClass
    Field PrivateData:TMyPrivateClass = New TMyPrivateClass
    Method DoThis()
       PrivateData.Privatefield = 4555