Paralax scrolling

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Paralax scrolling

Philip7(Posted 2008) [#1]
Hi, i'm new to gameprogramming so i have some trouble understanding what every is talking about with the discussion on tile-thingy's and such.

I changed some scrolling code to my needs and this works:

Global Schermbreedte: Int = 1024
Global Schermhoogte: Int = 768
Global Schermkleurdiepte: Int = 32

Graphics Schermbreedte, Schermhoogte, Schermkleurdiepte

Type TParalax                

Field speed:Float		
	Field x:Float
	Field y:Int
	Field width:Int		
	Field cycle: Int
	Field img:TImage

Function Create:TParalax(nx:Int, ny:Int, width:Int, speed:Float, ncycle: Int, imgFile:String)
		Local layer:TParalax = New TParalax
		layer.speed = speed
		layer.x = nx
		layer.y = ny
		layer.width = width
		layer.cycle = ncycle * width	
		layer.img = LoadImage(imgfile)
		ListAddLast ParalaxList, layer	
		Return layer
	End Function

Method Update()			
		x = x - speed			
		If x < -width; x = 0	
		If cycle > 0; cycle:-1
		If cycle = 0; ListRemove(ParalaxList,Self)
		DrawImage(img, x, y)	
		If x < -(width - Schermbreedte); DrawImage(img, x+width, y)	
	End Method

End Type

Global ParalaxList:TList=CreateList()

Global Scroll0:TParalax = TParalax.Create(0, 0, 2048, .001, -1, "incbin::background-1a.png")
Global Scroll1:TParalax = TParalax.Create(0, Schermhoogte-280, 1200, .2, -1, "incbin::mountains.png")
Global Scroll2:TParalax = TParalax.Create(0, Schermhoogte-230, 2475, .4, 1, "incbin::buildings.png")
Global Scroll3:TParalax = TParalax.Create(0, Schermhoogte-256, 1024, .5, -1, "incbin::crackice.png")

(I do comment my code but it's in Dutch so i deleted it for the forum)