Little help - new to objects and lists

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Little help - new to objects and lists

Dax Trajero(Posted 2008) [#1]
I'm just trying to get my head around objects and lists

As a test I want to write a quick space invaders clone. I call them aliens not invaders by the way...

Each alien has a draw method and an update method and all belong in an alienObjectList

I keep a separate gameObjectList with everything in it (player, aliens, bullets, etc)

As it's my first time with lists, I'm having a little trouble with the logic that updates the each alien's on-screen position. Obviously they move in a group and drop down a line when any reach the edge of the screen

Has anyone got any source code I could look at ?

I'd rather update them as a group instead of update them individually ?

GfK(Posted 2008) [#2]
Typed straight into reply box but you get the idea:
Strict

Global alienList:TList = New TList
Global alien:tAlien
Local n:int

'create some aliens
For n = 1 To 5
  alien = New tAlien
  alien.X = Rand(0,300)
  alien.Y = Rand(0,200)
  alienList.AddLast alien
Next

'update aliens en-masse
For alien = EachIn alienList
  alien.y:+1
Next

Type tAlien
  Field X:Int
  Field Y:Int
End Type

Dax Trajero(Posted 2008) [#3]
thanks Gfk for your swift response

I thought its good practice to have an UPDATE method for each game object. In this case I have a DRAW method and UPDATE method for each individual alien. Are you saying ditch that and update them all in one go ?

My main loop would have to change which is a single for next working through the gameObjectList

draw objects
update objects

Sledge(Posted 2008) [#4]
Space Invaders is a tricky one to start with because only one invader per frame is updated (which is why, in the arcade version, the aliens get faster and faster the less of them there are) -- you're going to have to look up how to simulate B3D's After command with TLinks if you want yours to behave similarly.