I'm making an RPG, need help with collisions.

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/I'm making an RPG, need help with collisions.

zcbeaton(Posted 2008) [#1]
Hey, I'm pretty new to BlitzMAX here. I started working on a simple "game" recently, a simple yellow rectangle that could be controlled using the arrow keys.

I've been learning BlitzMAX a bit more, and now I have it using sprites instead of a rectangle, and I added a tree.

I would like it so my character can walk around, but not THROUGH the tree. In pseudo-code I was expecting something like this:

If KeyDown(KEY_RIGHT)
If !(TheTreeIsAt(x+1)) x:+1
EndIf

I'll post my BMX file if needed.

Otus(Posted 2008) [#2]
You'll probably want to take a look at ImagesCollide.

xMicky(Posted 2008) [#3]
still one of my favorites for collission checking topics:

Looking for rotated, scaled box collisions

zcbeaton(Posted 2008) [#4]
ImagesCollide looked like I wanted, but I want it so that rather than stopping you from moving further into the tree when you collide with it, but rather preventing you from walking any closer to a tree if that would cause a collision.

In other words, rather than smacking into a wall and unable to go any further, I'd like to stop before the wall because otherwise I will smack into it.

Czar Flavius(Posted 2008) [#5]
Is this a grid-based game?

plash(Posted 2008) [#6]
Is this a grid-based game?
Or in other words, a tile-based game.

If it is tile-based you need to add a 'walkable' variable to each tile, and a bounding area for each tile.

If the player tries to move onto a tile that is not walkable move him back to the last tile before flipping the changes to the screen.

Czar Flavius(Posted 2008) [#7]
Or in other words, a tile-based game.
It was on the tip of my tongue, but the word just alluded me :)

CS_TBL(Posted 2008) [#8]
don't do this:
If KeyDown(KEY_RIGHT)
If !(TheTreeIsAt(x+1)) x:+1
EndIf

do this:
If KeyDown(KEY_RIGHT)
  MoveRight
EndIf