Pixmaps and Max Questions

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Pixmaps and Max Questions

Rico(Posted 2008) [#1]
I'm fairly new to Max (Hello! :D )
In the previous Blitz there was a Copyrect command to copy sections of the screen image around. Am I right in assuming you use Pixmaps to do this now? I was wondering if it is as fast as old Blitz, just because it seems a bit convuluted for the program - to copy to a pixmap - to somehow shift the image around - then to draw back to the screen.
Someone (who was very helpful) told me that to read a pixel on the screen you also have to use pixmaps, and then use various AND functions to extract the information from a bit value. Why is it so hard? will Max be updated to include a read pixel function? (I hope so)
I have some other questions -

1) Do you have to free or release a pixmap after using it? (+how do you do it?)
2) Does Max have a debugger where you can step thru the program and view the variables?
3) Can you draw to the FrontBuffer in Max? I had a program where I was drawing an image (very slowly) on the backbuffer and I wanted to display a numerical value on the front screen to tell me how long I had to wait, but I couldn't work out how to do this.

I like Max so far, though I am finding OO programing a bit weird and new at the moment. But I do have a couple of minor improvement suggestions :

1. when you press 'F1' to display the format of a command - it would be good if it always worked on the current or previous command on the line. Loads of times I get halfway through a command's arguments and realise I need help with the syntax and press F1, but it doesn't work, unless I move the cursor back to the command itself.
2. when the program comes up with an error and it goes back to the program code I always have trouble finding the cursor on the screen, to see where the error is. A bigger cursor or a highlighted command would be better.