Is it just me or are there no solid tutorials?

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Is it just me or are there no solid tutorials?

Reactor(Posted 2008) [#1]
I'm a BlitzMax beginner (mostly a beginner to programming in general) but every tutorial I've seen for the Bmax beginner doesn't help much. The BMax manual is a mess, and the tutorials on this forum are often filled with hungarian notation, magic numbers, and brief examples. They're frustrating to read and understand, or just lacking in information.

Maybe it's just me. I don't know. Programming examples on the web tend to be horrible as it stands, and now I'm into BlitzMax I'm finding things to be the same. My next step is to just ask lots and lots of questions, but I thought I'd ask if anyone knew of any solid tutorials (not the ones on this forum- I've seen those) which exist for Max and provide a good foundation.

plash(Posted 2008) [#2]
Hungarian notation?

Blitzmax probably isn't for the absolute beginner, I'm not saying you can't learn it, its just another language might be better for learning the main aspects of programming.

I asked questions when I first started blitzmax, there weren't so many tutorials back then.

BEFORE you ask anything use google or the search functions here on the forums.

P.S. You can do 'site:www.blitzbasic.com <search query>' in google to get only the results that are on this site.

Reactor(Posted 2008) [#3]
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hungarian_notation