Help - need some general help!

BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/Help - need some general help!

Rico(Posted 2008) [#1]
I am very new to BlitzMax (still learning the language). I I need help with the following

1. Where can I post requests for new features, or improvement suggestions?
2. How can I find the vertical position of the beam that draws the display. The old blitz I think used to have a Vpos function. I can't find this in BlitzMax (yet!)
3. What is the equivalent of the Vwait command from the old Blitz (waits for the next vertical blank)
4. I have drawn a 16bit 1024x768 background image for my game, is is basically a load of blue platforms (outlined in yellow). I also have a thin yellow line drawn on a black background ( as part of this background). When I set the draw mode to SOLIDBLEND so that it will overdraw any existing image. It draws it fine except the thin yellow line is drawn as a thick yellow line. If I don't specifically set SOLIDBLEND the line is drawn fine. Every other part of the image is drawn as it should be. I think I am misunderstanding something here - please help.
5. Is BlitzMax faster (performance wise) than BlitzPlus or DarkBasic? (especially in terms of drawing images and collision checks). Has anyone done any benchmark testing?

Thanks - Rico :)

Perturbatio(Posted 2008) [#2]
1. You can start a thread in the bmax forums, but be prepared for an argument a heated discussion. I'd suggest thoroughly thinking it through and wording it accurately before requesting something.

2. Not sure how you would do this, why do you need it?

3. look at the flip command

4. posting code would help

5. There have been lots of benchmark tests, it's much faster than BPlus and DarkBasic, not sure about DB Pro.

Rico(Posted 2008) [#3]
Here is the code for my SetBlend problem

Graphics 1024,768,16
back:TImage=LoadImage("RMedia\backdropB.png")
SetBlend SOLIDBLEND
DrawImage back,0,0
Flip
WaitKey()
End