BlitzMax Forums/BlitzMax Beginners Area/MaxIDE "program" menu question

Emmett(Posted 2008) [#1]
Is there a tutorial or some other instructions about "How To" get the:

MaxIDE: Program menu items:
Step (F9)
Step In (F10)
Step Out (F11)

to actually work?

I'm getting an error during compile and think that using Step, Step In, and Step Out would help me locate any error?

When the program halts on the error, the cursor lands at the bottom of the code on a blank line and the error alert window says:
Compile Error
Expecting expression but encountered "*"

I have looked at all the code where multiplication is used and everything looks ok to me. Course - I'm a beginner so what do I know anyway. ha

That's not the point of this "Topic" though. I want to know how to use the Step, Step In, and Step Out.

{EDIT} Here are "all" lines with the * in there.
If v <= threshold
	vx=(v/threshold)*1.0

If LR
	angle + (LR*steer*adjust(Abs(speed),steer_threshold, MAXSpd))

If UD = False
	speed * drift
ElseIf UD <> False And HAND = False
	speed = minspeed(maxspeed(speed+UD*accel,MINspd),MAXspd)

If HAND
	speed  * handbrake

xv = ((Cos(angle) * speed) - vector(0))/traction
yv = ((Sin(angle) * speed) - vector(1))/traction

Thanks

GfK(Posted 2008) [#2]
You need to turn Debug mode on, then use a DebugStop wherever you want to stop the program. You can then use the debugger.

Gabriel(Posted 2008) [#3]
And no, runtime debugging functions won't help you find a compile time error.

Brucey(Posted 2008) [#4]
Doesn't it give you more info than that? Like a a line-number etc ?

Like this :
Compiling:fullscreen_wx_test.bmx
Compile Error: Identifier 'c' not found
[/Users/brucey/Documents/programming/Blitz/BRM/fullscreen_wx_test.bmx;719;41]

where it gives the line number (719) and the character it thinks is the problem (41).

Emmett(Posted 2008) [#5]
@ Gabriel
Hmm, how do I locate compile time errors then?

Brucey(Posted 2008) [#6]
They should appear in the console output like my example above..